Embroidery Project- Coris Wrasse Bottle Cap Pincushion

As I was creating cute little quick and easy bottle cap pincushions, my hubby…stopmtion animator, artist, master of many many crafts, looked over and said, “Uh, I need a pincushion.”

He designs his own stopmotion animation sets, complete with wire and ‘ball and socket’ armature puppets, all of which need fabric, costumes, props, …you name it, he needs it. So, without further ado, I created a custom pincushion for him. (Now the fun part…!)

We snorkel a lot.

Hubby Snorkeling\

His all time favorite fish is the juvenile coris wrasse. We have thousands of underwater photos since hubby took up underwater photography a year ago. We have an entire folder dedicated to this fish (and many turtles 😉 ) Most people here mistake this for a clown fish, but it is not. (We don’t have the clown fish here in Hawaii)

Juvenille Yellowtail Coris Wrasse


We regularly snorkel at Shark’s Cove and after snapping this little guy’s picture, hubby scooped this little coris wrasse (of which hubby has great talent for thinking like a fish…especially to catch a wrasse) and this little wrasse now lives in our salt water tank here at home. (We eventually return them to their ocean home…they are basically “on loan” 😉 )

So, I employed my observation skills, watched the little wrasse, made a few sketches, noted the colors, snapped a photo or two, and…created a little Coris Wrasse Pincushion for hubby.

The little fish is all done in DMC floss, long and short stitch, outline stitch for black. I changed the direction of the threads to show the fins.

Coris wrasse bottle cap pincushion

I also love to crochet and knit and spin, so I have a plethora of yarns and threads. After digging through a great bunch of fun stash, I found wonderful sea themed yarns to couch onto the felt.

Coris wrasse bottle cap pincushion 2coris wrasse bottle cap pincushion 3coris wrasse bottle cap pincushion 4coris wrasse bottle cap pincushion 5

The result is a cute little coris wrasse pincushion.

Finished Coris Wrasse

It is a cute little size. Just perfect for a handy amount of pins for a project.

Height of pincushionDiameter of pincushion

What’s your passion? Wouldn’t it be great to have your own personal little pincushion displaying your favorite things? Go ahead…make one…or two… 😉 When you do, please share your photos with me, I’d love to see what you make! Your life needs fun. Go ahead, have some fun!

4 Comments

Filed under embroidery, Pincushions

4 responses to “Embroidery Project- Coris Wrasse Bottle Cap Pincushion

  1. Monika

    I love the undersea !!! It’s soo great that you and your DH get to snorkel often. I’m an island girl as well (PR) but leaving in the main land now.

    Love the pincushion… wow !!! You definetly have lots of inspiration !!!

  2. Well, well islandgirl as well…I’m sure you have fond memories and experiences in Puerto Rico that can inspire you too! I’m glad you love this pincushion! I think the fish feels so ‘happy’ on this one! smiles, alicia in Hawaii

  3. Love your blog and these pin cushions are too cute!

  4. Hi Judi,
    Thanks for visiting and thanks for the compliments!
    The pincushions are so quick and fun to make up. They are perfect little gifts too.
    smiles,
    alicia in Hawaii

Leave a comment