A Birthday Card Twist – In A Tin

I was looking for these wonderful little tins to do up some cross stitched or embroidered covers. A wonderful friend, Joan, ever faithful Needle Shop extraordinaire, gave me a whole box of these little wonders. She was so kind to share them with me.   🙂

I needed a Birthday Card for my mom…and I had these tins…and some colored pencils…and some watercolor/chalk paper… so was birthed:

(I call it) Film Can Greeting Card

I did up a sketch of our little Jack Russell, Beagle and one of the many kitties for a birthday gift/card cover.  I created a little cover for a tiny tin. Here it is.

I then cut a teeny tiny sliver of paper-strip to write my message on, curled it up into the tin like a film can, and called it a ‘card’.

It has a cover, you open it, and the message is inside!

Now, my little creatures images are featured in color pencil and in thread.

Too see the creation of the thread square go here (to my Counting My Bessings Blog) or here (New Post on Embroidered Square)

I created the drawing before doing the piece up in embroidery.  🙂

Your life needs fun. Go ahead, have some fun! –
smiles,
alicia in Hawaii

5 Comments

Filed under Colored Pencil, Embroidery Ideas, Favor Tins, Film Can Greeting Card, Pets

5 responses to “A Birthday Card Twist – In A Tin

  1. Pingback: 3 Pets ~ Pups and Kitties « Curiosities808~Counting My Blessings

  2. Mel

    Those are so great Alicia! 🙂

  3. What a cute card idea!

    I saw your post to ILCS about your friend. My thoughts and prayers to you and her during this time.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    • AF Wife 99,
      Thanks for the comment. I’m glad you like the Film Can Greeting Card idea.
      Thanks for the support with my friend as well. It’s hard.
      I like to visit your blog…you have soooo many projects completed!
      smiles,
      alicia in Hawaii

Leave a comment