Tutorial-Embroidery Tools–The Sulky Hot Iron Transfer Pen–Creating Iron On Transfers-Tarot Card Purse Panel

Here is another tutorial about creating Iron On Transfers. This is how I have created hot iron transfers with the Sulky Hot Iron Transfer Pen.

1. Have a pattern image. Copy the image onto plain printing paper. You can even enlarge or reduce the image size!

For this project, I want to create an embroidery panel for a purse using a  card that my husband created. He made a deck for me a few years back and this card is one of my favorites. It shows both of us and our little Jack Russell Terrier, Mr. MacKenzie.

I copied the card image with my computer printer. For this one, I even ENLARGED the original image to get the size that I want for the purse panel.


2. Get a hot iron transfer pen…and an iron.

This is a brown Sulky hot iron transfer pen. I used to buy mine at Joggles.com, but they no longer carry them. If you know of a good place to buy this pen online, please share your source with me.

The iron will come into play later. ;)


3. Trace your design on the reverse side with your hot iron transfer pen.

I flip the printed paper over and use my cutting mat as a solid surface since light can travel through the plastic. You can see here that the design is visible and easily traceable when I hold the mat and the reversed sheet up to the door.

After you have the entire design traced out…go on to #4.


4. Place the pattern image, hot iron PEN SIDE DOWN onto your fabric. Just decide where you want it to be…and get ready!


5. Press with hot iron. Set your iron to the cotton setting. (That is the setting that I usually use…unless the fabric is some type that will not survive the heat.)


6. Leave iron placed on the transfer. Peek under a corner to see if the transfer is done.


7. The transfer is done.

You’ve created a Hot Iron Transfer for embroidery…or for just about anything!

Let the embroidery begin!

Your life needs fun. Go ahead, have some fun! –
alicia in Hawaii


Filed under Bags/Purses, Iron On Transfer, Projects, Tarot Card Purse, Tools, tutorial

3 responses to “Tutorial-Embroidery Tools–The Sulky Hot Iron Transfer Pen–Creating Iron On Transfers-Tarot Card Purse Panel

  1. Sharon

    I just came across your site and found your wonderful tutorial for the iron on transfer pen… what a wonderful idea and something that I look forward for using for gifts!

  2. Mary Gordon

    I found these people still carry the Sulky Transfer pen. http://www.speedstitch.com/

    I had been looking for them, also.

    I vey much like your tutorial – I am just getting back into doing that kind of stuff again. :-)


Leave a Reply

