Cross Stitch Project- Update 1, Seasonal Dragons “Summer”, Patricia Allison Chart

Hot Summer Action!

summer dragon page 1 fc

This is the progress of the Summer Dragon after 1 month of stitching! (off and on stitching, not 24/7 stitching…) I feel really good about the progress and I don’t think it will take much more time to finish it up, (less than the 1 year I originally thought it would take). Most of the stitching is in this first page, the other pages are mostly borders of flames…not that the flames are easy, but they certainly aren’t large, monster bodies of teeny tiny quarter stitches all of the same hues! LOL

summer dragon page 1 portrait

In person, the black crystal is shiny and shimmery. It’s all stitched with filament added to black and other dark colors. The dragon is very intricately shaded. Bravo to Patricia Allison! This is a fantastic chart! I love every detail of it!

summer dragon page 1

To stitch up this Bad Boy, I’ve had to take to some creative aids. I’m colorblind and simply CANNOT tell where I’ve left off if I just use a simple pencil to scratch off the chart. I also HAD to enlarge this chart. There is NO WAY I can see the itty bitty marks for the zillion quarter stitches in this chart. NO WAY! I’ve employed the needle holder, all threaded, Mag Eyes…with a 7.0 magnifier…yes, it’s the one I use for micro mini stuff, a TON of different colored pencils, mega charts and two scissors…one I use as a ‘pointer’.

I’ve found out a secret though…and I will be using every bit of it to tame the next page of this moster Summer pattern… I WILL WIN and tame the Summer Dragon! Muwahaha!!!

Your life needs fun. Go ahead, have some fun!

smiles,

alicia in Hawaii

15 Comments

Filed under Cross Stitch, Dragons

15 responses to “Cross Stitch Project- Update 1, Seasonal Dragons “Summer”, Patricia Allison Chart

  1. Looking good! Thanks for sharing.
    Paula

  2. It looks great, but I know they look even better in person with all the sparkles and things. You should get this one done before your year is up!

  3. Carissa in WI

    Looks great!

  4. It looks absolutely stunning Alicia. I’m not color blind but I too need to eliminate everything I stitched already. Looking forward to admire the next update on your dragon. Ohh….and I sent the pen off 🙂

  5. Rene la Frog

    WOW….fantastic progress!!! Looks great and can’t wait for the next update.

  6. Your dragon looks great. You’ll have him done before a year is out.

  7. Patricia Cecilia

    Your Summer Dragon is looking great!

  8. Mel

    Looking great Alicia. What a system with your coloured pencils. Very cool.

  9. Looking really good!

  10. Twana

    Looks terrific!

  11. mollycaff

    Oh my, that is one gorgeous dragon! I love it!

  12. Mel

    Hi Alicia,
    I’d like to invite you to visit my blog as I have a gift there for you! 🙂

  13. claire93

    WOW!
    I’ve got this chart in my stash too, and seeing your progress makes me wonder if I shouldn’t make a start too. Gorgeous work, but all that quater stitching sounds rather daunting!

  14. Patricia Allison

    I like seeing people stitch my designs, it looks good (much neater than my stitching)

    If anyone has Facebook please add me to your list, I love chatting about cross stitch. You can search for me by using Patricia Aikin Klein, and I live in Cincinnati, OH

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

