Cross Stitch Project – Hawaiian Flower Ornaments, Bird of Paradise

Teeny Tiny Stitches…

bird-of-paradise-2

This design comes from this “Hawaiian Christmas” leaflet. The photos on the leaflet are so small that I basically had to stitch it up blindly and hope the flower was what I wanted in the end. I haven’t been able to find any info on the leaflet to link to…maybe it’s no longer in print.

cross-stitch-hawaiian-flowers-fc

Close up, the photos are dime sized at best. I plan to stitch the Bird of Paradise, the Yellow Ginger… and maybe a plumeria or hibiscus.

cross-stitch-hawaiian-flowers-close-up

My plan for these were to make ornaments but I found that Westex ornament frames are in short supply and maybe even obsolete. So…plan B.

I stitched this one on 18ct. white aida. The chart is rather simple and it stitched up in 2 days for me. The backstitching was more confusing than difficult because the leaflet really didn’t define the areas very well. It makes a cute little finished design. I followed the DMC floss color chart so my finished item is different than the leaflet cover since the models were stitched in Bates.

bird-of-paradise-1

I’ve given the task of framing or finishing to my hubby, John. I requested round Koa wood frames with enough depth to insert glass, fabric and backing. If that doesn’t manifest, then perhaps he’ll make a wooden box. The box lid will have to have 3 circle inserts to frame the 3 flowers I am stitching to complete this ‘set’.

bird-of-paradise-3

I am almost done with the backstitching of the Yellow Ginger. I will post that when it is done.

Your life needs fun. Go ahead, have some fun!

smiles,

alicia in Hawaii

9 Comments

Filed under Cross Stitch

9 responses to “Cross Stitch Project – Hawaiian Flower Ornaments, Bird of Paradise

  1. Nancy M

    It looks quite pretty and I’m sure he can come up with something. There are also round finishing forms you could use and they would be finished more as an ornament than for framing.

  2. Rene la Frog

    Very pretty….looking forward to seeing how you finish all of them.

  3. Heidi

    Very nice. I hate it when the pictures on the leaflets are so small! They look great so far and I hope DH makes you a great box for them.
    Heidi-ILCS

  4. Very pretty, Alicia! Can’t wait to see the rest!

  5. Marl

    That is very pretty.

  6. sailaja.sharma

    Wow so very nice

  7. Janice H

    Love them!!! Would you be willing to share the name of the company that published the leaflet? I would like to contact them.

  8. laleh

    i was searching about closeup flowers and i could find here and just i am thinking about your work i was think that is one photo but now i know it isno photo it is a life .

Leave a Reply

