Quick and Easy Embroidery Project- Embroidered Felt Bookmarks Part 2, Choosing Thread

Let\'s Start

So we are off to start a few bookmarks to see which types of backings will work well with them, while we also get to try out a few new stitches. Just think, you can create an original embroidery design with your own color palette. You can be as creative as you let yourself be… You are totally in charge! Are you ready?

I’m using The Embroiderer’s Handbook (my cover is different, but it is the same book) to pick a stitch that I haven’t yet done and that I would like to try out.

I’m choosing, “Blanket Stitch-Looped”. I have done the blanket stitch, but to have to do it in the round seems challenging, and I like the little flower that it creates, so I think it’s a fun choice. Here, I have the book opened to the stitch and all my threads are gathered so that I can choose a special few to stitch with.

So Many Choices

Now, to choose the colors: I have been drawn to an odd combination lately which is normally NOT ever been my color choices; a watermelon type combo of bright pink and bright green. (In fact, I just ordered business cards with these colors on the logo.) So, I’m choosing the bright pink felt for the bookmark and the bright yellow and bright green for the threads.

A Green and A Yellow

I realize that the actual stitch sample in the book says that they only stitched it in 2 different colors for the purpose of the tutorial, but I really like the two-tone finished effect, so that is why I am choosing 2 colors for the flower.

Now to clean up. I’ve put away all those other choices to clear the clutter and I have gathered my tools. (Here you can see my ‘high tech, high style, fancy needlebook…a big ugly piece of black felt with little white letters…wonderful eh?) *I do have good scissors and good needles* lol

Ready to Start

Off to start! Won’t you join in a give it a try? You life needs fun. Go ahead, have some fun!

Read Part 1 of Quick and Easy Embroidery Project-Embroidered Felt Bookmarks, Here

2 Comments

Filed under Bookmarks, embroidery, felt

2 responses to “Quick and Easy Embroidery Project- Embroidered Felt Bookmarks Part 2, Choosing Thread

  1. Hi, Alicia!! I’m glad to see you have a blog! I’ve added you to my feedreader!

    I’m excited to see your bookmark progress. We’re doing felt bookmarks for one of the projects in my kids’ embroidery classes. I’ll join you, then, and post some pictures when I work up the sample!

    Keep up the great work! It’s a fun blog!

    Best,
    Mary

  2. Hi again Mary! Now I am giddy.
    I got 2 comments from you.
    I love your work over at NeedleNThread.com and love the video tutorials you do.
    Thanks for subscribing and thank you for the compliments. I’m excited to see your felt bookmarks for class. Hope to keep up with the backings.
    smiles, alicia in Hawaii

Leave a Reply

